DSU Campus Outreach

Liaison: Dee Murray

Our goal is to work with Dixie State University students and professors to create a mutually beneficial relationship wherein DSU and AAUW partner to promote education and career opportunities for women and girls in our area.

eSMART Committee

Chair: Erin O’Brien

The eSmart Committee plans and implements the eSMART Summer Camp for Girls. It currently has approximately 15 members. If you are interested in volunteering to help with camp, there are many jobs, small and large, available – depending on your interest and/or skills.

Great Decisions

Chair: Carol Sawaya

Great Decisions is a national civic-education program that is organized by the Foreign Policy Association. It provides a forum for thoughtful discussion and debate of the foreign policy challenges that we face today. The discussion group meets every second and fourth Tuesday at 1:30 p.m. at the St. George Library. A copy of the Great Decisions briefing book is on file at the Library’s Reference Desk.

Membership Committee

Co-Chairs: Jude Rhodes

This committee recruits new members, holds a new member orientation meeting each fall, greets members and distributes name tags at branch meetings. It also processes membership applications and maintains the master membership database. Please inform this committee if your address or phone number changes so the database can be kept up to date.

Nominating Committee

Chair: Donna Howell

The Nominating Committee, with the Past President as Chair, seeks members to fill the officer openings for the coming year. If you are interested in holding an office next year, please contact Ruth Allen, or say “Yes!” when contacted by a member of the committee.

Reality Store

Chair: Vicki Jennings

Reality Store is a program put on by AAUW and Utah Business Women for ninth graders. It provides students with the opportunity to experience real life scenarios and learn what it actually costs to live on their own. Students submit essays about their experiences and the top six entries are awarded prizes.

Scholarship Committee

Co-Chairs: Pat Dalpiaz, Sandy Ghio

The Scholarship Committee establishes the categories of scholarships to be awarded, focusing primarily on women entering college after an interruption in their education, and secondarily on supporting Millcreek High School and its nontraditional students. Scholarship recipients are announced and introduced to the membership at the May luncheon meeting. Sources of funding for scholarships are the Gala and individual donations.